About


Course of the study

  1. Sign up with your email address to participate in our study.
  2. Visit the verification link we send to you to confirm your email address.
  3. After you successfully confirmed your email address, you will receive a weekly email from us, each with a new link to measure your fingerprint.
  4. By visiting such a link, we will measure characteristic attributes (features) of your browser and show you all of these values.
  5. Every 4 weeks, you will receive a report about your recognizability as PDF file per email.
  6. In order to make a statement about your long-term recognizability, a long participation and several fingerprint measurements per week would be very beneficial.
  7. You can end your participation at any time by visiting the unsubscribe link we provide in each of our emails to you.

Features

If you visit the links we send you to measure your browser fingerprint, we will store a variety of features of your browser if querying them is possible. Our privacy policy provides an overview of all data that is stored by us when we measure your fingerprint.

Important

Each of our emails is signed with a S/MIME certificate from Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU, Germany), which allows you to control if we are the real sender of an email. We will only send you emails with links leading to our website that begin with https://browser-fingerprint.cs.fau.de/. In our FAQs, we describe how you can verify our digital signature.

Privacy

Once your participation in our study ends, we will delete your email address from our database.

We will evaluate the measured browser fingerprints only for research purposes and always only in an anonymous form. During your sign up, you can determine whether we are allowed to publish the measured characteristics of your browser fingerprints in an anonymous form for research purposes (e.g., within a test dataset for other research groups).

Ablauf


Studienablauf

  1. Registrieren Sie sich mit Ihrer E-Mail-Adresse, um an der Studie teilzunehmen.
  2. Besuchen Sie den Verifizierungslink, den wir Ihnen an Ihre E-Mail-Adresse schicken, um Ihre Registrierung abzuschließen.
  3. Nach erfolgreicher Bestätigung Ihrer E-Mail-Adresse erhalten Sie wöchentlich eine E-Mail von uns mit einem neuen Link zur Fingerprint-Messung.
  4. Wenn Sie einen dieser Links besuchen, messen wir Merkmalsausprägungen Ihres Browsers und schlüsseln Ihnen diese vollständig auf.
  5. Im Abstand von 4 Wochen erhalten Sie zudem regelmäßig einen Bericht über Ihre Wiedererkennungsdauer als PDF-Datei per E-Mail.
  6. Um eine Aussage über Ihre langfristige Wiedererkennbarkeit zu treffen, ist eine lange Studienteilnahme sowie mehrere Messungen pro Woche sehr von Vorteil.
  7. Sie können jederzeit Ihre Teilnahme beenden, indem Sie einen der Abmeldelinks besuchen, den wir ans Ende jeder unserer E-Mails einbinden.

Merkmale

Beim Besuch eines Links zur Messung Ihres Fingerprints speichern wir eine Vielzahl an Merkmalen Ihres Browser, sofern die technischen Voraussetzung für eine Erhebung gegeben sind. Eine Übersicht aller Daten, die wir speichern, können Sie unserer Datenschutzerklärung entnehmen.

Wichtig

Wir signieren alle unsere E-Mails mit einem S/MIME-Zertifikat der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, welches nachweisbar macht, dass eine E-Mail wirklich von uns gesendet wurde. Wir werden Ihnen nur E-Mails mit Links für die Fingerprint-Messungen senden, die auf unserer Webseite führen und mit https://browser-fingerprint.cs.fau.de/ beginnen. Informationen zur Überprüfung unserer digitalen Signatur können Sie unseren FAQs entnehmen.

Datenschutz

Sobald Ihre Teilnahme an der Studie endet, löschen wir Ihre E-Mail-Adresse aus unserer Datenbank. Eine Verknüpfung Ihrer E-Mail-Adresse und der gemessenen Browser Fingerprints wird dadurch nicht mehr möglich sein.

Wir werden die gemessenen Browser Fingerprints nur für Forschungszwecke und stets nur in anonymisierter Form auswerten. Bei Ihrer Registrierung können Sie bestimmen, ob wir die gemessenen Merkmale Ihrer Browser Fingerprints in anonymisierter Form für Forschungszwecke veröffentlichen dürfen (z. B. innerhalb eines Testdatensatzes für andere Forschungsgruppen).